The Moon at Sunrise

Camera: Lumia 950 XL | App: Lightroom CC 2015 | November 16, 2016

In order to get into the office at 8:15 am, I need to wake up at 6:00 am (I take a long time in the shower) and then commute for 40 minutes from Rogers Park in the north to downtown Chicago. But on Wednesdays at 6 am, I’m on the Metra train and at 7 am, when I usually leave my house, I’m at UIC. Wednesdays are special because I get to spend time with one of my friends and early Wednesday morning is the only time we’re both free.

I get off at Ogilvie and walk three blocks south to Union Station, where her train arrives. I have a few choices in getting there. I could take the scenic route next to the river or the faster, less crowded route on Clinton Street. This picture was taken when I took the scenic route. It was a bad decision because my hands were numb from the cold but when I saw the moon hanging over the Presidential Towers, they moved on their own. In one badass, fluid motion, the phone went out of my pocket, made the artificial shutter sound and went back inside the pocket.

I used Lightroom to make the colors stronger, because this photo was taken pointing west, so it missed the color show in the east.

Leave a Reply

